Home > Canada, College, Life, Music, Personal, School, Student, Thoughts, University > Barenaked Ladies and Winter.

Barenaked Ladies and Winter.

I was just reading an article posted on Derivative. Here is part of what it had to say:

Perhaps Canadian culture is marked then by the myth of winter? I will not deny that. It is completely plausible that we’ve all bought into the idea, or have at least been fooled into thinking that this is the way things are (here, too, is a subject for another day). Some recent time I have wasted on YouTube, however, has left me reconsidering the place of winter in the shared borg-like Canadian conscious. Maybe I’ve spent too much time grumbling about the lack of snow that we all long for and then complain about when the real importance of winter on the Canadian soul is its short days of filtered sun or overcast afternoons of long shadows before the even longer night falls. The winter does force Canadians to run indoors and stay there, unless they’re willing to bundle up in either wool or synthetic knits for “winter sports.” Maybe something has happened to all of us, then, by spending too much time in our parents’ rec rooms and dens, that has altered the way our synapses fire vis-à-vis other national cultures? The time spent on YouTube wondering about this was based around a flurry of Canadian music videos. Many that I watched offered long shots of grizzled Canadians in the middle of winter, bundled up against the cold, wearing touques, singing while their breath condenses in front of them. Of course, a couple music videos featuring the Canadian winter does not mean that all Canadian music videos feature the Canadian winter. But at the same time, I hardly think that there has been a cabal of record label managers, artists and musicians who have decided over the ten years ago that Canadian culture must be developed by way snow and ice and wool and faux-fur on Super-8 film. There’s something organic to this trend that shows in the way in which our musicians visually display their aural art.

I went out tonight with some friends and it wasn’t bitterly cold outside but the wind that was blowing made it seem so.   Minus the wind, I actually like winter.  It is probably one of the most peaceful times of year. And the silence that lingers on a winter’s night is something that is rare to find on most places on earth.  Winter always reminds me of Bruce Cockburn’s “Lovers in a dangerous time.”  As it relates to the article above, the version that the Barenaked Ladies sang especially reminds me of winter.  This is partly in due to the fact that the music video that they shot for the song was during the winter times.  I find the video to be so lovely.  This is because well, once you watch it below, it is a simple video.  Nothing too fancy or special.  This is probably because they had a low budget to shoot.  But even having said that, it takes nothing away from the song.  Once you watch it, you’ll come to realize that it is authentically Canadian, not only for its simplicity but for the images of Canada and its winters that it explicitly invokes.

The first time I ever saw this video was back in the day when I was in grade 4 if I remember correctly. It aired on Much Music, back when Much Music was actually good.  I remember too that it was a cold winter night and I was cuddled up in a blanket.  Ever since that night when I first saw the song on TV, I have always associated it with winter.  Its a winter song.  I find that I can only truly appreciate this song when I listen to it in the winter season. I am actually reminded of another song that I can only really listen to in winter and that is “Bobcaygeon” by The Tragically Hip, which was also shot in winter. The lyrics of these songs only heighten this “wintery” feeling I get when listening. Unfortunately, I can’t find the video for TH on youtube right now otherwise I would have posted that as well. But watch BNL and tell me what you think.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

