Home > Canada, College, Life, School, Student, Thoughts, University > French Food At Home

French Food At Home

Laura Calder

So my latest tv obsession has been focused on the food network.  French Food At Home, hosted by Laura Calder focuses on, well…french food.  The show, which is in its second season, focuses on food from France and French Canada as well as tid bits of french culture from both France and Canada.

Lets talk about the host first.  Not only does she have this passion for French food, but she is amazingly educated.  She has 2 BAs from two universities in Canada, and Masters degree from the London School of Economics.  Moreover, she studied cooking at The Dubrulle Culinary Institute in Vancouver, Canada and at L’Ecole de Cuisine LaVarenne in Burgundy, France where she studied for 7 years. 

With that said, she has written for a number of magazines: Vogue Entertaining and Travel, Gourmet magazine, Gastronomica, Salon.com, the Times of London, the Los Angeles Times, the Wine Journal, and Flare magazine.  She has written her own cookbook as well which was published back in 2003, the title the same as the tv show.

The first season of the show was done quite well actually.  There’s nothing on the Food Network about french food.  So it was good in the sense that it was different.  On top of that, I loved the set and the lighting as well as the camera angels, camera work and the type of camera that they used (they didn’t use the typical camera that one would use to film a tv show; rather they used what seemed like a high quality dvd type of camera).  But the best thing I loved about the show last season was that it was simple; something that I have always loved about Canadian television as a whole. 

The second season is just as good, if not better.  Although they have begun using a different camera and the set is a bit different as well, the second season is more casual and open.  Laura has begun to display more of her personality via her hair, her clothes and her makeup.  She is more relaxed and is beginning to tell jokes in between kneading and mixing.  I can’t say anything about the food since I am not at all familiar with french good.  But judging by Laura’s passionate explanations, I am sure its quite good. 

One thing, however, that I would change is the lighting.  The lighting this season isn’t as good as it was last season.  The way they have it this time around is that the show is trying to go for that ‘natural light look without any evidence of any light bulbs’ type of thing.  It can work, and it does work to make Laura’s dresses and makeup pop but it kind of makes the rest of the set look a bit dark.  If the set had bright colours instead of warm colours than perhaps they could pull it off.  But as of right now, I don’t think the lighting is as good as it can be. 

So if you like food, its a nice little half hour escape into the realm of wonderful french cuisine.

  1. May 21, 2008 at 8:58 am

    I love this show so much so much, she really holds herself well and the recipes are so down to earth good. I even find myself watching the shows twice, the night before and next morning. She has this very calming feeling about her that makes you relax and enjoy the show. Most of the chefs on the network are all over the place creating there own mish mash of recipes. Keep it simple, real, calm and you’re going to get the real feel for cooking. She holds so true to the real foundation of French food it’s amazing.

    You could learn more from Calder than you could ever imagine.

    Thanks for keeping it real

  2. Helen Tomson
    June 4, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I love this show and I love the music. Does anyone know who does the music?

    Thanks

  3. Martina
    June 5, 2008 at 7:27 am

    I too love the show, the host, and the music. I can’t stop humming the quirky theme song and wish that I knew who the artist is! Can anyone help?

  4. June 5, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I like the theme song as well but unfortunately I haven’t been able to find it yet. If I do find it, I’ll make sure to post it up here for you guys.

  5. Wendy
    June 22, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    The music in the show is by Mike O’Neil. He’s a vocalist and musician from Kingston Ont.

  6. Helen Tomson
    July 18, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Thank you very much. Does he have any CD’s out – does anyone know?

  7. Adriana
    November 20, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    I’ve come to realise the theme song for the show “French Food At Home”, truly is a great song. I don’t know the name of it, unfortunately. But the lyrics may help. I carefully replayed the YouTube video over a couple of times, and heard the following words:

    And I see you girl…
    …making my time again,
    seeing the signs again,
    come over,
    come over…

    I have tried to type them into Google search, but nothing seems to come up.

    Hope we all find the song we’re looking for! 😀

  8. October 8, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Hi,
    I see I am not the only one who is trying to track down the origin of the musical theme from French Food at Home. I love the show and the music is a wonderful bonus.
    I would love to have a whole CD of that kind of music.
    Elaine

  9. October 25, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I LOVE Laura, this is the best show on the Food Network. Like the others, I want the music too, but have been unable to find it. I am watching the second season. I just discovered the show about a month ago.

  10. October 30, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    I had tried to find the song lyrics, the song even the band… but nothing seems to work 😦 … does anyone know anything about that theme yet?? pleaseeee!!! i’m driving myself crazy haha… well i’ll keep trying

    bises**

  11. Chris
    November 3, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I too would like to buy a CD of this music but it seems he only created the music for the TV show. You all might find this article interesting.

    http://www.thecoast.ca/SceneAndHeard/archives/2009/10/27/mike-oneill-has-a-brand-new-gemini

  12. french music
    November 24, 2009 at 4:59 am

    something that sounds moreless lik that kind of music could be…
    the sountrack of russell crowes’s movie ” a good year “…

    http://www.taringa.net/posts/musica/1543278/A-Good-Year—Un-Buen-A%C3%B1o—Soundtrack.html

    also the cd C’est L’amour… i havent been able to find it complete… i was able to download a few songs though , they are amaaaaazing.. specially for cooking.
    remind me of paris so bad…
    if anyone gets the whole cd plssss let me know WHERE CAN I DOWNLOAD IT fo free!!!!!!!

    i would really, really apprecate it…

    http://www.amazon.com/Cest-Lamour-Romantic-French-Classics/dp/B000002WXU

    play the songs’ preview…

  13. Randall
    February 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Easily the best show on food TV. My wife and I watch it most everyday – we PVR the morning and afternoon viewings and watch at our leisure.

    I love french food – it’s so honest, and I adore the cute and quirky delivery of the host. Laura is beautiful and talented and hopefully will stay in the genre.

    Oh – and the music is formidable!

  14. Diane Nemer
    February 25, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    This past week, I watched Laura make “magique boule”. I got a kick out of her method and just had to make it. It turned out beautifully. I love to make bread but this one is different than anything I’ve ever made and is really a nice rustic crusty loaf. This one’s a “keeper”. I know I’ll impress my family and dinner guests with this loaf. Thanks!

  15. Daniel
    April 15, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I love everything about this show, her, her personaliyu, the food, the music, which I find really soothing after a long day.

    Another thing I love is the home it’s filmed in! Its a real house, it’s beautiful I would hardly call it a set, just look at the window, you can see shadows from the tree moving.

  16. Matt
    May 13, 2010 at 8:16 am

    I love the ambiance of the show, the vegetable dishes, the sauces, and the new ideas.
    The French cafe and market shots are inspiring. Shop local and shop often.
    Especially luv the music. French jazz small in a small combo is Ooh la la!
    I will echo the comment if anyone can track down a CD of this stuff that would be c’est bon.

    Closest alternatives I found so far are:
    http://www.amazon.com/Putumayo-Presents-French-Various-Artists/dp/B0000DBJDB/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1273760077&sr=1-1
    And
    http://www.amazon.com/Cafe-Flore-Rendez-Vous-Saint-Germain-Pres/dp/B00008AY6F/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1273760123&sr=1-1

    Matt

  17. Voyce
    October 30, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I too love the music and have wasted hours today look for it. I see there are comments from 2008 looking for the music, so I guess it is hopeless.

  18. Mel
    November 30, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    How come this series hasn’t hit DVD yet????

  19. Kimberly Servello
    March 21, 2011 at 6:55 am

    French Food at Home is my absolute favorite cooking show! I “discovered” the show about a month ago. As in previous comments, I love that it’s filmed in a house. Laura makes the recipes so easy that I’ve already made several of them. It’s wonderful to prepare elegant dishes without having to spend an entire day in the kitchen!
    I also love the music, but even more I love Laura’s wardrobe. Especially the scoop neck t-shirts and flirty skirts. Would love to know who makes her clothes. Anyone know?

  20. Corinne Chenault
    March 22, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    The music is very like the songs in the french anime movie…The Triplets of Belleville ’04. What I would like to know, is the name of this “style” of music.

  21. RD in Tampa
    May 27, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I, too, add me to the list of loyal fans. Unlike so many other cooking shows, I find I learn great things from Laura. And I love her delivery, albeit a bit delightfully bitchy (meant in the kindest way). Her food knowledge, as well as her depth of education, really come through.

  22. Jennifer knowles
    April 6, 2012 at 11:39 am

    What I want to know is where can I buy her matching stretchy shirt/skirt sets, when I google it nothing comes up.

  23. May 25, 2012 at 11:35 am

    French Cooking at Home is my very favorite show on tv. Laura Calder has a great kitchen with wonderful cooking techniques and recipes. She inspires me to make at least one of her recipes every week–and every bite is delicious! Love the music, camera. lighting, her clothes and expressions and hope this show is around for a long time with more to come. Laissez les bon temps rouler!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

