Slow Start

So this semester has gotten off to a very slow start for me.

I had an hour long presentation last week which I literally pulled together at the last minute.  I didn’t even know the exact date my presentation was on.  It got so bad that I showed up to class one day thinking my presentation was that day.  I was so nervous and so not prepared.  I was actually contemplating telling the prof I was sick or something.  It turns out, my presentation wasn’t til a week later.  Luckily I managed to put together a decent presentation that the prof and the class actually appreciated.

I have a midterm coming up this Friday and I just downloaded all the notes we’ve gone through since the beginning of the semester off of the school site.  I have a week to study for it but as of right now, I have no idea what is going on in the class.  It’s not that I don’t go to class (although I have skipped a significant amount), I just don’t pay attention in that class.  All I do when I come to class is open up my notebook and surf the web; stalking people on facebook or thoroughly reading every article on every news site I can get to in an hour.  And as of right now, I have been sitting in the library attempting to study for the past three hours and I have gotten nothing done.

In my other class, I know I have a midterm coming up but I don’t know exactly when.  The prof has provided no dates on the course outline which is utterly frustrating.  On top of that, I have to submit a presentation proposal soon and I don’t even know what I will present on.  It would help if I went to that class, but I have literally attended that class twice since the semester as begun.

I really need to start getting my act together.  I was doing so well last semester; not only having fun but also keeping on top of all my work.  This time, it hasn’t played out that way.  Ive been having way too much fun and haven’t been paying any attention to my school work.

I had this little mantra last semester that if I get a little bit done each day or every few days, I won’t be stressing at deadlines.  I stuck to that and it actually worked.  It kept me from procrastinating (for the most part) and kept me on top of everything I have had to do.  I think I need to constantly remind myself of that. If I don’t, the semester will be over before I know it and I’ll be stuck in a position come exam time where I don’t want to be.  And it seems like this semester is going to fly by.  I looked at the calender today and its already Feb!.

Plus, I need to get over this Gossip Girl addiction that I’ve recently aquired…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

