Home > Canada, Life, Personal, Thoughts, University > Chipped Teeth

Chipped Teeth

Ladies and Gentlemen, I now wear the hallmark of a true Canadian.  Three of my teeth are now severely chipped due to a hockey stick hitting my in the mouth.  I forgot how it exactly happened.  All I remember is seeing a bottom end of a hockey blade with black tape around it heading directly to my mouth.  It hit me and I got stunned and stood there waiting for some sort of sharp horrible pain to hit me.  When that didn’t happen, I waited a few seconds to spit out any teeth that may have gotten loose.  Thank God that didn’t happen either.

What did happen however is that my two front teeth are severly chipped.  A good chunk of the bottom part of both those teeth are gone.  And I have a bottom tooth that has a chip from the back.  Plus my upper lip is cut from two places.  I guess that’s just part of life when you play hockey.

What I didn’t expect to happen after this happened was an odd feeling of depression.  I don’t know what happened to the other pieces of my teeth but I found a large chunk of my chipped tooth on the ball hockey floor.  After I rinsed my mouth out and the bleeding stopped, all of a sudden I began to feel depressed.  I can’t really describe it but it was almost that feeling that a part of me was missing, was gone.

I have heard many cases of people going through this state of depression after having a limb amputated and their accounts were similar.  They articulated a similar feeling that they were missing a part of themselves.  And rightfully so.  I too, would be devastated if God forbid something like that would happen to me.  But this was just a few parts of my teeth missing and almost immediately I began to feel withdrawn from everyone.  And people saw that on my face.  It was clearly evident that I was feeling down.

I remember I was sitting alone by myself for a few minutes while my team finished off their game.  I sat there and I wanted to cry.  I was so depressed.  I’ve been thinking about it today and I for the life of me, I really don’t know why I was feeling like that.  I mean chipped teeth are a common occurrence.  And it’s something that can be fixed very easily (although very costly).  My friends tried to make me feel better but it just didn’t work.

I am feeling a lot better now.  That wave of depression has passed.  Now I am more concerned about if my university med plan is going to cover this.  I really hope it does because I can tell you right now, I can’t afford to get my teeth fixed.  And I NEED to get them fixed.  I have exposed nerve endings and it’s proving to be very difficult to eat and drink.  I guess I’ll have to go to university in the morning and find out how this goes.

  1. August 10, 2009 at 2:19 am

    I can’t imagine what that must be like, sounds painful in many ways.

    Hope it gets covered and that you feel better =)

  2. August 12, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Salaamualykum,

    I feel you! I chipped my tooth once… only I don’t have a heroic hockey story behind it. I was fighting over the phone with my cousin, when it flew back and smacked me in the mouth. Painful. And humiliating! Bought down by a mere telephone.. grrrr….

    It’s all good now though. I rushed to the dentist and had it fixed then and there. Alhamdulillah for advancements in dentistry… or I’d still be looking like a deranged jack o lanter. Hope you get yours fixed soon =)

  3. fablewolf
    October 21, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    i feel you man. i chiped one of my front teeth in a bike accident and got it bonded, looking to get something more permnate like a veneer. so i can get it redone every 10 years instead of 3. but yes after the bleeding stoped i was highly depressed. and even now when i look in th emirror it bothers the hell outa me. even tho its fixed and nobody knows its bonding… i know its fake and it bothers me. its because of this that i take less risks now. i would of rather any other tooth than this one to be chiped. but yes this is common and i just do my best to get over it, or i just go to the V.A and relize it could always be worse. i would probly recomend boding if you trying find cheap price, or venerre if you have medical insurance, but yes i hope you get it fixed soon.

  4. Andrew Jones
    November 20, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    I really know how you feel, I chipped my tooth about 2 weeks ago, I don’t know how I’ve managed to go for 2 weeks without treatment, and that’s not my fault.
    I live in a large town in the UK and the health system here is freaking terrible. To make a long story short, from the point I called my dentist to the point I will get treatment will be 1 month. And I am 2 weeks in and I feel so angry at myself for putting myself into a position I could hurt myself. The depression surrounding this is incredible.

  5. Victoria
    February 13, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    Same thing happened me. And I feel very depressed and you said the thing what I feel. I feel a part of me was dead, was missing and is gone forever.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

