Home > Life, Personal, Student, Thoughts > Fragrance Connoisseur

Fragrance Connoisseur

Givenchy Blue LabelOver the course of the past few weeks and especially the past few days, I have become somewhat of a cologne collector and thus a self proclaimed fragrance connoisseur.  In total, I have purchased a total of seven different fragrances in the course of 15 days or so.  Most of them are the full sized bottles, the 100mL +.  There is a small story behind this that I am all too willing to share.  Given that I am a student and money is always low, I consider this to be one of the greatest triumphs in my shopping career.

About two weeks ago or so, a friend and I were taking a late night drive.  He had wanted to go to a Shoppers Drug Mart to pick up some milk for his mom.  So we went to one near his house, which was open til 12am.  While he went to go grab his milk, I had noticed the cosmetics section of the store was still open and began to browse around the fragrance section.

Only a few seconds after browsing, this very nice woman working at the cosmetics counter asked me if I needed some help.  I asked her if she had any cologne that was priced for under $30 dollars.  She nodded her head and mentioned that she has a whole range of fragrances that are on for 50% off.  She handed me a page with two columns of perfumes and colognes that were on sale.  I asked her why they the prices were cut in half.  She said that her manager had ordered a whole bunch of stuff that he/she shouldn’t have by accident and they simply didn’t have the room to store it.  So they needed to get rid of their excess stock as quickly as they could.

That night, I ended up buying a 125mL bottle of Dolce & Gabbana’s Light Blue Pour Homme cologne, retailing for just under $90, for $44 dollars and some change.  I was ecstatic that night.  D&G colognes never go on sale.  And to find a mark down of 50% on something as high end as D&G, I tell you, I was the proudest shopper in the entire global market that night.  And it was at that night that my cologne connoisseuring began.

After that day, I went back periodically and bought six more bottles for a total of seven altogether:

D&G Light BlueDolce & Gabbana Light Blue 125mL ($44)

Dolce and Gabbana Pour HommeDolce and Gabanna Pour Homme Classic 125mL ($44)

Givenchy Blue Label Givenchy Blue Label 100 mL ($31)

hugoHugo Boss Hugo 100mL ($28)

polo_explorerRalph Lauren Polo Explorer 40 mL ($19)

fcuk connectFrench Connection UK Connect 100 mL ($19)

Nina Ricci NinaNina Ricci Nina 50mL ($39…for my aunt).

Not bad huh?  My favourite fragrance by far is Givenchy’s Blue Label.  It has this amazing, fresh scent to it. It smells like you just got out of the shower.  I absolutely love it.

I had to buy a going away gift for my aunt and I thought perfume was a nice gift to buy and so I bought her Nina by Nina Ricci.  This is also another scent that is amazing.  Ladies, I highly suggest you buy this fragrance.  It has this sweet fruity scent to it that makes it stand out among the others.  And it’s not one of those corny smells, it’s actually quite an elegant and luxurious fragrance.  The bottle is very unique as well, shaped like an apple.

Nina by Nina RicciI looked up all of these fragrances online, just to get a glimpse of how these scents were advertised and I must say Nina by Nina Ricci by far has the most amazing and creative marketing campaign for its perfume.

If you go to the website, you will discover a fairytale surrounding the perfume.  The Tale of Nina is a short narration about a fairy, Nina, who is on a quest to search for femininity in the form of a perfume.  She finds it in the form of a bottle shaped like an apple hanging off a silver tree in a castle chamber.

They have a whole movie that you can follow along with the story (it takes 30 seconds to get through).  The amount of work that they have put into shaping the whole image and feel of the perfume simply rocks my world.  They have actually created this fantasy world around their fragrance and it actually makes you want to buy it and be part of this fairytale world.  If I were a girl, I would definitely be buying Nina on a regular basis.   This is how marketing is supposed to be.

Go to the site, watch the movie, download the ringtone (which also serves as the soundtrack to the fragrance) and become part of the Nina world.

All in all, I think I scored some pretty good deals with these colognes.  I probably won’t have to buy another bottle of cologne for some time now, which is good.  In the long run, I have saved a lot of money which is never a bad thing.  Hopefully, this will be my last episode of splurge shopping.

P.S Here is the English version of the Nina commercial.  The longer, french version can be found here.  You may recognise the model in this campaign as Ruslana Korshunova, the Kazakhstani model who died at the age of 20 after allegedly comitting suicide by jumping off her ninth-floor appartment building in the financial district of Manhattan.

  1. September 17, 2009 at 7:44 am

    I feel you! Nothing says satisfaction like a good deal – especially one on perfume.. or in your case, cologne. Although you *are* missing a few. Lacoste Red and any Hugo Boss. And, of course, Aramani Aqua Di Gio =)

  2. September 24, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    I got Hugo Boss. I’ve been wearing that one a lot actually. Aqua Di Gio is one phenomenal cologne. I got it as a gift a few years ago and fell in love with that fragrance. I’m not really a fan of Lacoste to be honest but I can understand why people like it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

